Pennsylvania has harsh marijuana laws. However, Penn State students might not understand the potential risk. Marijuana still falls under the Schedule 1 controlled substances in the Keystone State.
Penn State students from outside Pennsylvania need to know the penalties for possessing marijuana. You may be ignorant of the consequences or even believe cannabis is legal if you come from a state where it is. Continue reading to learn more about the legal status of marijuana in Pennsylvania.
According to Penn State’s website, police officers can choose to file a summary offense instead of a misdemeanor charge within the Borough of State College. However, you cannot count on a downgraded charge. Police make this decision at their discretion. Depending on the severity of your crime, they may not show much leniency.
Any amount under 30 grams of marijuana carries the charge of a small amount of marijuana for personal use. It is an ungraded misdemeanor that holds the potential for a $500 fine and 30 days in jail. For a college student, this is no minor punishment. If you possess 30 grams or more for personal use, you risk $5,000 in fines and one year in jail for the first offense. Seek out an experienced criminal defense attorney to fight these charges. Most students’ academic careers would not survive such a penalty.
Compared to many other states, Pennsylvania has severe consequences for possessing marijuana. Even a small amount can potentially land you in jail. However, there is always a chance to fight criminal charges, even in the worst-case scenario. Know your rights and find legal counsel right away.