Repeat DUI Offender Laws Look Back 10 Years
Repeated DUIs carry mandatory penalties in Pennsylvania. The state “lookback” period is 10 years. If you have had one or more prior offenses within that time, it is critical that you speak to an experienced repeat DUI defense attorney, who knows how to effectively handle DUI cases.
At the State College Law Offices of Lance T. Marshall, we have extensive experience helping our clients find favorable resolutions to their DUI charges. We always look for opportunities to have the charges dismissed, and where that is not possible, we will look for ways to minimize the impact of the charges.
What To Expect From Second- And Third-Offense DUI In Centre County
As a former prosecutor, attorney Lance T. Marshall, understands how a case is assembled and where to look to locate problems with the evidence. He makes it a point to give our clients candid advice about what they can expect from a second or third DUI charge. He can accurately assess the strength of the case against you and make a recommendation based on those facts.
Pennsylvania uses a tier system for penalizing people convicted of DUI, depending on an individual’s blood alcohol content (BAC) and the number of previous offenses. The tiers include:
- General impairment: Includes a BAC between .08 and .099. Jail times range from a five-day minimum for a second offense and 10 days for a third to a maximum of two years. Fines range from $300 to $5,000. Driving privileges are revoked for a minimum of one year.
- High BAC: Includes a BAC between .10 and .159. Jail times range from 30 days for a second offense and 90 days for a third to a maximum of five years. Fines range between $750 and $10,000. Driver’s license could be revoked for 12 to 18 months.
- Highest BAC: Includes any BAC of .16 or higher. Jail times start from 90 days for a second offense and one year for a third to a maximum of five years. Fines range between $1,500 and $10,000. Driving privileges will be lost for 18 months and require an ignition interlock system before a license may be reinstated.
Get Help From Our Experienced Lawyer When You Face A Subsequent Offense
A DUI conviction stays on your record for life. Get help now by contacting our firm to arrange for a complimentary consultation with a skilled lawyer. Call 814-308-0422 or email us.