Call Today For A Free Initial Consultation

Law Offices of Lance T. Marshall

Important change to Pennsylvania DUI laws

A recent change to Pennsylvania DUI laws allows individuals accused of a DUI the option to continue driving with a special license and an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle for a year. An ignition interlock device functions as a breathalyzer test that prevents the vehicle from starting if alcohol is detected in the driver's breath. An alternate diversionary program may also be available but the accused individual's driver's license will be suspended for 30 to 90 days.

The new options apply to individuals accused of a DUI that have a blood alcohol content level of .10 or higher. For individuals accused of a DUI with a BAC of between .10 and .159, they face a mandatory jail sentence of 2 days, a fine ranging from $500 to $5,000 and one year driver's license suspension along with alcohol highway safety classes and possible treatment requirements. The change in the law provides for the accused individual to choose an ignition interlock device instead of license suspension.

Accused individuals are eligible for the ignition interlock device in lieu of losing their license if they are convicted of a DUI. Representatives for accused individuals note that the decision is an important one for accused individuals to have guidance while making. It will not be until next fall that individuals that choose the diversion program will have the same option to choose an ignition interlock device over losing their license for a year.

Because of the significant legal and personal consequences of driving under the influence charges, it is important for accused individuals to understand their legal options and criminal defense rights. Different sets of potential penalties and consequences apply for different levels of DUI charges, which are divided into 3 tiers in Pennsylvania, so it is essential for accused individuals to be familiar with DUI laws in the state and their criminal defense rights.

Source:, "New law gives first-time DUI offenders an option to losing their license for a year," Dylan Segelbaum, Aug. 19, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For a Response

How Can We Help You?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

Office Location:

Law Offices of Lance T. Marshall
250 East Beaver Avenue
Suite 774
State College, PA 16801

Phone: 814-308-0422
Fax: 814-308-8552
State College Law Office Map